Slow Cooked BBQ Sausage and Bean Casserole

Here is my very own concoction… Sausage and Bean Casserole, BBQ style!  I’ve adapted a recipe I’ve been using for a while as I wasn’t too keen on it. This though, is seriously yummy and so easy to make!

This quantity serves me, the hubby and Henry. And we usually serve with rice or jacket potato, veg and garlic bread.

6 sausages

1 onion (diced)

1 red pepper (chopped)

1 green pepper (chopped)

1 tin baked beans

2 garlic cloves (minced or chopped finely)

2tbsp vinegar

2tbsp Worcestershire sauce

1tsp smoked paprika

2tbsp brown sugar

1/2tsp pepper

1/2tsp salt

Add all the above ingredients into your slow cooker and give it a really good stir. I suppose you could brown the sausages in a pan before you add them to the slow cooker but I don’t bother. It just creates more washing up!

Cook on low for 6hrs.

If the sauce is a bit watery, just thicken with a small amount of cornflour/water mix.

"Mmmmm"

“Mmmmm”

 

14 thoughts on “Slow Cooked BBQ Sausage and Bean Casserole

    • Ha ha! Mmmm now I think that’s a challenge. To be honest we usually do have meat with pretty much everything. Unless it’s a tomato pasta sauce with isn’t very difficult so I won’t bore everyone with a post. My sister in law is a vegetarian and she cooks the most amazing paneer curry. It’s so amazing that my dad ate a massive plate full and thought it was chicken! 😂😂 I may just ask her to give me some recipes as I was planning on cutting meat out of our diet for a day a week at least.
      Alternatively you could just substitute the sausages in this recipe for something that hasn’t come from an animal 😃. X

      • Don’t like pasta – diabetic you see. White pasta a no, no brown pasta vile. Yet the curry has a certain appeal – I cook a lot of interesting veggie dishes. If you want my brinjal bhaji one I worked out for myself I’ll send it!

      • There’s two of my ‘takes’ on Indian food. First the brinjal bhaji and also the sag aloo. Bit long to chuck on here – can I get to message you via Samantha’s Facebook page?

      • Yeah, send it through to Sam and ask her to forward onto me. Or if you can see me on her friends list request or msg me through it. Don’t wanna put my full name on here in case there are some weirdos! But it’s Kathryn with the very long surname beginning with L :)

    • It was delicious! Ooo you should try it. I have another sausage recipe which I do pretty regular too. Sweet and sticky sausage and onion casserole. I will post that next time I make it, most likely during the week ha ha :) I serve that with dumplings, mash and veg. It’s one of my favourite at the minute.
      I’m also attempting a pudding in it today, hopefully it will be ok and I’ll do a blog post about it x

Leave a Reply

