2nd Birthday Party Ideas

The past few days I’ve been making a start thinking of what we can do to celebrate Henry’s 2nd Birthday. It’s not until mid March but I thought if we are going to hold a little party I should start getting some invites out at least. My house is pretty small so I’m not inviting that many people. Just a few of his little friends and cousins. I’ve also (stupidly) decided I want to bake and decorate him a cake! For his 1st birthday we kept it very small, only had a few visitors on the day and people turned up in dribs and drabs. We didn’t even bother with a cake. This year, although he’s still only little I wanted to make a bit more of a fuss.

image

So, today I’ve been a busy girl on eBay! I’ve purchased some invites then at least I know people will save the date. I’ve also bought some fondant icing to practice making the decorations for his cake. As well as some letter cutters so I can put his name on the cake board. Ok, I’ve never worked with fondant before, this may be a total disaster but I figured it would be nice for me to give it a go. I’m a bit of a perfectionist and I can 100% guarantee I’m not going to be happy with the finished product but I’m sure Henry won’t mind at all!

Henry has followed in his daddy’s footsteps and is a bit car crazy! He loves anything car related, small plastic toy cars, his big yellow one which takes up half the living room (roll on the summer when it can go in the garden), plus watching cars on TV or out of the living room window. I figured his party and cake should be car themed. I’ve got a giant cupcake mould which I’m going to try some recipes out and depending on numbers I’m also going to attempt some cake pops (decorated like little F1 helmets). Once the fondant arrives I’m going to even try and make some little F1 cars to go on the cake, with a winding racing track flowing down it. I may post some pics of my 1st attempt at the fondant, unless it is absolutely terrible and I sulk like a baby after throwing it in the bin. Obviously a recipe post will be up for the giant cupcake once I find one I fancy trialling.

"I'd love to think of some witty comment for this picture but all I can say right now is he looks pretty damn cute supporting his favourite F1 team!"

“I’d love to think of some witty comment for this picture but all I can say right now is he looks pretty damn cute supporting his favourite F1 team!”

So, what I need now is party game ideas! Remembering he’s only 2, some of his friends are slightly younger but some are up to like 5/6yrs. As I said my house is pretty small so can’t really do anything messy as they will be in the living room, but all I have is pass the parcel.

HELP! Please!

2 thoughts on “2nd Birthday Party Ideas

    • Thanks jo. Can’t wait to give it a go. As I said, I’ve never worked with fondant and it might be a disaster but it’s only close friends and family who are coming to his party so even if it’s daft they won’t mind x

Leave a Reply

